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Powderhorn WMA 

Background 
Powderhorn Wildlife Management Area is 15,069 acres of freshwater and brackish wetlands, 
coastal prairies and mature live oak forests. The main entrance is 5 miles west of Port O’Connor 
on FM 1289 and the check station is 1.6 miles inside of the property. Objectives for the Area are 
coastal prairie and wetland restoration and to provide public access and recreation 
opportunities. 

Hunting Information 
• All WMA rules and regulations must be adhered to unless superseded by hunting 

regulations. Permitted hunters and standby hunters should report to the WMA check station 
by 10:30 a.m. on the first day of their assigned hunt period to complete the application 
process. Hunters must contact the area as soon as possible if they are unable to attend their 
accepted hunt or not able to arrive on the first day for orientation. Standby hunters will be 
drawn at 11:00 a.m. as vacancies permit. 

• Following a brief orientation, Texas Parks and Wildlife personnel will direct hunters to their 
hunting compartments. Hunters will provide their own transportation to and from their hunting 
blind and hunters must stay within their assigned area. Four-wheel drive vehicles are 
recommended, especially during wet conditions but are not necessary to participate in the 
hunt. 

• Hunters must wear a minimum of 400 square inches of daylight fluorescent orange material, 
with at least 144 square inches appearing on both chest and back and orange headwear. 

• Baiting is allowed and encouraged on deer and exotic hunts. Corn must be certified for 
livestock and wildlife consumption (aflatoxin free). No baiting will be allowed on turkey hunts. 

• Non-permitted visitors and family members will not be allowed on the WMA during hunts. 

• Hunters will be responsible for the care of their game after harvest. Facilities for cleaning and 
skinning deer and hogs are available on the WMA. 

• Hunters are reminded that they must have a valid Texas Hunting License as required by 
statue. Hunters 17 years of age or older must have in their possession a valid I.D. Hunter 
Safety Education is required of Texas hunters born on or after September 2, 1971 (see the 
TPWD annual for more information). 

• Disturbance or removal of plants, rocks, artifacts or other objects is prohibited. 

• Alcohol is prohibited on the WMA. 
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• Camping is not available on the WMA. Adequate lodging is available in Port O’Connor and 
Port Lavaca. 

Please call (361) 205-1510 for additional hunting information. 
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