

Guadalupe Delta WMA Feral Hog Hunts

Background

Guadalupe Delta Wildlife Management Area (GDWMA) is located 8 miles northeast of Tivoli on State Highway 35 in Calhoun County, Texas. The check station is located on the south side of Highway 35 about one mile west of the Highway 185 intersection.

The Mission Lake Unit of the GDWMA consists of approximately 4,400 acres of marsh purchased during 1985-1991 with funds from sale of Texas Waterfowl Stamps. It is a freshwater marsh subject to flooding from the Guadalupe River and its bayous. Objectives of the Area are to provide a high-quality marsh for wintering waterfowl and to provide access and recreation in the form of public hunting.

Hunting Information

All WMA rules and regulations must be adhered to unless superseded by hunting regulations. Permitted hunters and standby hunters should report to the WMA headquarters by 10:00 a.m. on the first day of their assigned hunt period to complete the application process. **Hunters must contact the area as soon as possible if they are unable to attend their accepted hunt or not able to arrive on the first day for orientation.** Standby hunters will be drawn at 11:00 a.m. as vacancies permit.

Following a brief orientation, Texas Parks and Wildlife personnel will direct hunters to their hunting blind. Hunters will provide their own transportation to and from their assigned hunting blind and hunters must stay within their assigned area. Four-wheel drive vehicles and **ATVs or ORVs** are recommended, especially during wet conditions but are not necessary to participate in the hunt.

Hunters must wear a minimum of 400 square inches of daylight fluorescent orange material, with at least 144 square inches appearing on both chest and back and orange headwear.

Only one legally permissible mean per hunter will be allowed into the hunt area. Pistols and firearms using rimfire ammunition are prohibited. Use of dogs is prohibited.

Baiting is allowed and encouraged. Corn must be certified for livestock and wildlife consumption (aflatoxin free).

Non-permitted visitors and family members will not be allowed on the WMA during hunts.

Hunters will be responsible for the care of their game after harvest. Facilities for cleaning and skinning hogs are available on the WMA.

Hunters are reminded that they must have a valid Texas Hunting License as required by statue. Hunters 17 years of age or older must have in their possession a valid I.D. Hunter Safety Education is required of Texas hunters born on or after September 2, 1971 (see the TPWD annual for more information).

Each hunter should also bring a flashlight, food, drinking water, foul weather gear, mosquito repellant and rubber boots.

Disturbance or removal of plants, rocks, artifacts or other objects is prohibited.

Alcohol is prohibited on the WMA.

All hunters should be physically able to climb and hunt out of 5-foot box blind. Hunters with mobility disabilities may hunt from a stationary motor vehicle. Please notify the hunt manager if any special requirements are needed.

Camping is not available on the WMA. Adequate lodging is available in Port Lavaca.

Please call (361) 552-6637 or (361) 790-0307 for additional hunting information.